Split Enrollment

The split enrollment option allows your entire family to enroll in TRICARE Prime even if part of your family is living in another TRICARE region. This allows families with college students, children living with former spouses or families otherwise separated to enroll together in separate regions and pay one enrollment fee, if applicable. 

To use the split enrollment option, notify the regional contractor in each region to establish a primary payer, usually the sponsor, if you pay enrollment fees.

Region Contractor
East RegionUnder the new regional contracts, the East Region is a merger of the North and South Regions and includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa (Rock Island area), Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri (St. Louis area), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas (excluding El Paso area), Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. 
West RegionAlaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa (excludes Rock Island arsenal area), Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri (except St. Louis area), Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas (southwestern corner including El Paso), Utah, Washington and Wyoming. 

Last Updated 6/6/2022