Sexual Trauma Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP) Pilot

The Sexual Trauma IOP pilot provides care for active duty service members who have mental health conditions (e.g., posttraumatic stress disorder) related to sexual trauma they experienced at any time during their life. If you are eligible, you can get care from a select team of intensive outpatient programs. These are located at the TRICARE network facilities and military hospitals and clinics listed below.

Through this pilot, the outpatient programs will provide mental health care, support, and other benefits. They will also work with case managers to ensure access to community resources and support systems in your area.

The pilot runs now through Aug. 31, 2021. The last day that you can be admitted to the pilot is July 31, 2021.

Am I Eligible?

To qualify for mental health benefits under this pilot, you must:

  • Have a diagnosis from a mental health provider (TRICARE-authorized or from a military hospital or clinic).
    • Your diagnosis must be associated with a sexual trauma that you disclose.
  • Have both a pre-authorization and a referral.
  • Live within specialty care drive time (about 60 minutes) of a participating facility.

You aren’t eligible if you’re:

  • Living overseas.
  • Enrolled in the US Family Health Plan.

Where is the Pilot Offered?

The following treatment facilities are participating:

East RegionUnder the new regional contracts, the East Region is a merger of the North and South Regions and includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa (Rock Island area), Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri (St. Louis area), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas (excluding El Paso area), Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

  • Oceans Behavioral Hospital, Waco, Texas
  • Oceans Behavioral Hospital, Biloxi, Mississippi

West RegionAlaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa (excludes Rock Island arsenal area), Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri (except St. Louis area), Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas (southwestern corner including El Paso), Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

  • Denver Springs Help for Heroes, Englewood, Colorado
  • Behavioral Health Strong Hope Military Program, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Aurora Behavioral Healthcare, San Diego Hospital, San Diego, California

Military Hospitals and Clinics

  • Brooke Army Medical Center, San Antonio, Texas
  • Madigan Army Medical Center, Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington

Talk to your health care provider if you‘re interested in participating in the pilot or have more questions.

Last Updated 2/24/2021