DHA Launches Pilot to Tackle Mental Health Effects of Sexual Trauma


Sexual trauma can happen to anyone, and it can have long-term effects on your mental health. But it isn’t something you have to deal with alone. There’s help available if you need it. If you’re an active duty service member (ADSM) who has experienced sexual trauma at any time, you may be eligible to participate in the Sexual Trauma Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP) Pilot. The pilot, recently launched by the Defense Health Agency (DHA), provides support to ADSMs who are experiencing posttraumatic stress disorder and other mental health conditions associated with sexual trauma.

“The Department of Defense seeks to provide the best available treatments for survivors of sexual trauma,” said Dr. Holly O’Reilly, clinical psychologist and acting section chief of Clinical Care at the Defense Health Agency’s Psychological Health Center of Excellence. “This pilot will help us determine whether community partnerships with IOPs is a workable solution for service members who experienced sexual trauma and wish to seek treatment in or outside of direct care.”

Below you can learn more about the pilot, how you can join, and the services you can get through the pilot.

How long is the pilot available?

The Sexual Trauma IOP Pilot is open through Aug. 31, 2021. The last day that you can be admitted to the pilot is July 31, 2021.

Who’s eligible for it?

To qualify for the mental health benefits under this pilot, you must be an ADSM stationed stateside. You must also meet the following criteria:

  • You have a diagnosis from a TRICARE-authorized mental health provider, or military hospital or clinic mental health provider.
  • Your diagnosis must be associated with a sexual trauma that you disclose.
  • You have both a pre-authorization and referral for your care.
  • You live within specialty care drive time (about 60 minutes) of a participating facility.

Keep in mind, you aren’t eligible if you live overseas or if enrolled in the US Family Health Plan. You can check with your TRICARE contactor if you have questions about eligibility.

Where is the pilot located?

As of now, the program is only available in certain areas. There are five TRICARE network locations and two military hospitals participating in the pilot: 

East RegionUnder the new regional contracts, the East Region is a merger of the North and South Regions and includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa (Rock Island area), Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri (St. Louis area), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas (excluding El Paso area), Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

West RegionAlaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa (excludes Rock Island arsenal area), Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri (except St. Louis area), Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas (southwestern corner including El Paso), Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Military Hospitals and Clinics

Do you live near one these participating facilities? If so, you may qualify for mental health, case management, and community support resources to help you. Be sure to talk to your health care provider if you want to take part in the pilot or have questions.

Did you know that TRICARE covers a wide range of mental health services? Go to Mental Health Care or check out the TRICARE Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Services Fact Sheet to learn more. Take command of your health, and get the care and support you need.

At the time of posting, this information is current. For the most recent information, contact your TRICARE contractor or local military hospital or clinic.

Last Updated 10/14/2021